MLB Home Run Derby 2016 participants, bracket, rules

Defending championTodd Frazierand current home run leaderMark Trumboare among the star-studdedparticipants in the 2016 Home Run Derby inSan Diegoon Monday(8 p.m. ET, ESPN).The eight-player field, announced Thursday,will follow the bracket format that began at last year’s event.Frazierand Marlins slugger Giancarlo Stanton aren’t members of the All-Star Game, but the power hitters will add an extra amount of flair in the slugfest.MORE: How would All-Star Game look if players were picked for defense?Padres youngster Wil Myers will hope to accomplish whatFrazier did last season in Cincinnati: win the derby at his everyday ballpark.Myers, the No. 6 seed, will face off against Reds breakout slugger AdamDuvall.Others joining the derby includeDodgers rookieCorey Seager,Seattle second basemanRobinson Cano(the 2011 Derby champ) andColorado outfielderCarlos Gonzalez.The players were seeded one through eight based on home runtotals through Wednesday.Here are the participants and bracket for Monday’s T-Mobile Home Run Derby. MLB Communications (@MLB_PR) July 7, 2016MORE: Meet these profe sional home run catchers |MLB All-Star rostersLike last season, batters will have four minutes each round to hit has many long balls as po sible. In the first round and semifinals, each batter is entitled to one 45-second „time out.” In the finals, each batter is entitled to two 45-second „time-outs.” Thirty seconds of bonus time will be awarded for two home runs that each equal or exceed 440 feet.Ties in any round will be broken by a 60-second swing-off with no stoppage of time or additional time added. If a tie remains after the swing-off, batters will engage in succe sive Ervin Santana Jersey three-swing swing-offs until there is a winner.